What is eCOGRA and Why Is It Important?

eCOGRA is  a name that you’ll come across often if you play at licensed and legitimate online casinos. Established in the UK in 2003, the acronym eCOGRA stands for eCommerce Online Gaming Regulation and Assurance.

This entity is an international regulatory body that focuses on fair and safe gaming, player protection and operators acting in a responsible manner. It’s a regulatory body that puts the player first, and keeps the industry giants in check.

Two Important Divisions

eCOGRA is made up of 2 important divisions, the ATA, or Approved Testing Agency Services and SRS, or Self-regulation Services.

These 2 divisions are the industry watchdogs that ensure players always get a fair deal, and that the online establishment they have chosen is acting in an unbiased manner.

Approved Testing Agency Services

The ATA division specialises in the certification of online gambling software and systems. Over the years, this division has completed over 500 compliance reviews for 80 leading operators and software providers for online pokies and other games in the online gambling industry.

Some of the biggest brands have had their products scrutinised by the ATA and have stood up to this scrutiny remarkably well.

Self Regulation Services

The SRS website provides the following list of this divisions objectives and incentives:

  • Prevention of underage gambling
  • Protection of vulnerable players
  • Combating of fraudulent and criminal behaviour
  • Safeguarding of information and protection of player information
  • Prompt, accurate payouts
  • Fair gaming
  • Responsible advertising
  • Commitment to customer satisfaction and professional support
  • Reliable, secure and safe operating environment.

Generally Accepted Practices

eCOGRA has instituted a code of generally accepted practices, or the eGAP system, and these are the requirements that affiliates, operators and software providers must adhere to and abide by.

eGAP breaks down the requirements that need to be met in order for any one of the 3 entities to earn one of the 3 official eCOGRA certifications. If a client meets the eGAP requirements they will be awarded the prestigious Seal of Approval, which they can display proudly on their site.

Casino operators receive the eCOGRA Safe and Fair seal, while affiliates get the Affiliate Trust Seal, and software providers get the Certified Software Seal.

There are very strict guidelines to the issuance of these seals and the requirements that must be met in order to attain and retain them and all entities are subject to rigorous reviews and continuous monitoring of their products to ensure that they meet and maintain the required standards.

The majority of the staff at eCOGRA have an auditing background and this is put to great use n the way they monitor and assess sites on an on going basis.

eCOGRA plays a crucial role in the iGaming industry and its often said that players should stick with sites that feature this seal, and then they know they are in good hands.

Any site that displays the eCOGRA seal is one that has met high standards of operation, and this is what any player will want.